Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

USTA - Caribbean Section
P.O. Box 190740
San Juan, PR 00919
(787) 726-8782
FAX: (787) 982-7783


Motevassel cruises into third round at 40 Hard Court Championships

November 29, 2011 09:41 AM
Oren Motevassel.
La Jolla, CALIF. – Last year, former touring professional Oren Motevassel of San Jose, Calif., lost in the men’s singles final of the USTA National 40 Hard Court Championships at the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club. This year, the second-seeded Motevassel, once ranked as high as 161 in the world, has set his sights on winning the championship.
On a cool and clear Monday afternoon in La Jolla, Motevassel, who spent 15 years on the men’s professional tennis tour before retiring in 2001, got off to an impressive start. After receiving a first-round bye, the native of Tel Aviv, Israel defeated Matt Whitehead of Southwest Ranches, Fla., 6-0, 6-1, in his opening round match.
The left-handed Motevassel took the ball early, hit it flat and mixed up the pace of his shots as he moved the ball around the court during his straight-set, second-round victory over Whitehead.
"I like playing here. I like the competition," said Motevassel as he admitted he is still getting used to the playing conditions at the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club. "Every time you go somewhere else, the balls are different, the court is different. I need a couple of matches to play to get my touch."
The 44-year-old Motevassel spent most of his professional tennis career playing on the ITF Futures Circuit and the ATP Challenger Tour. He competed against players such as Lleyton Hewitt, James Blake, Taylor Dent and Carlos Moya.
On Tuesday, Motevassel will face Oscar Blacutt of Greensboro, N.C. in his third-round match, which is scheduled for noon (PT). In other men’s singles action, Jeff Tarango, defending men’s champion and top seed, advanced to the third round when his second-round opponent withdrew.
San Diego’s Gretchen Magers, the No. 1 seed in women’s singles, will face Nora Harrison of Erie, Colo. in a second-round match scheduled for 8 a.m. on Tuesday.
The La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club enjoys a 75-year tradition of hosting tennis tournaments and tennis pros from around the world. Tennis legends who have played at the LJB&TC include Pancho Gonzales, Jack Kramer, Ted Schroeder, Maureen Connolly, Billie Jean King, Stan Smith, Arthur Ashe, Roscoe Tanner, and John McEnroe.
Named "Club of the Year" for 2011 by the San Diego District Tennis Association, the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club is designated one of the "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Resorts Online. In addition to hosting the USTA National Men’s & Women’s 40 & Over Hard Courts, the USTA National Father & Son Hard Court Championships and the Grandfather & Grandson Hard Court Championships, the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club is home to the Pacific Coast Men’s Doubles Championships every March (one of the five-oldest tennis events in the world), and the USTA National Senior Women’s Hard Court Tennis Championships in May. The Club also hosted the 2008 Fed Cup, and was also the proud host of the 2006 Davis Cup First Round Tie between the United States and Romania.

USTA National 40 Hard Court Championships
La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club
La Jolla, Calif.
Surface: Hard
Men’s Singles
First Round
Mark McMahon, La Jolla, def. John Sellars, Dallas, Texas, 6-0, 6-0
Tom Iselin, Sun Valley, Idaho, def. Thomas Mullen, La Jolla, 6-4, 6-3
Steve Wilde, Oak Park, Calif. def. Carl Vanderschuit, La Jolla, 6-2, 6-1
Nelson Alapi, San Diego, def. Thomas Schultz, Denver, Colo., 6-0, 6-1
J. Lenoir, Tampa, Fla. def. Scott Herscher, Palo Alto, Calif., W/O
Eugene Jones, Del Mar, def. Roger Raskin, N. Hollywood, Calif., 6-2, 6-4
Scott Moore, Yorba Linda, Calif. def. Ali Zarrabi, Pomona, Calif., 6-4, 6-2
Anthony Smith, Los Angeles, Calif. def. Andre Marc, San Diego, 6-2, 6-2
Kosei Ohno, Kirkland, Wash., def. Richard Cohen, Philadelphia, Pa., withdrew
Manuel Ortiz, El Cajon, def. Rand Hogen, La Jolla, 6-2, 6-1
Matt Whitehead, Southwest Ranches, Fla. def. Mike Zarraonandia, San Diego, 6-4, 6-1
Paul Tracey, La Mesa, Calif. def. Ken Zanio, La Jolla, 3-6, 6-1, 6-1
Mark Olman, Del Mar, def. Howard Jarvis, Springfield, Mo., 4-6, 7-6(5), 6-4
Robert Simmons, San Diego, def. Bill Moss, Malibu, Calif., 6-2, 3-6, 7-5
Logan Raskin, N. Hollywood, Calif., def. Jawad Bisharat, La Jolla, 6-1, 6-0
John Saviano, Los Altos Hills, Calif. def. Jon Idemoto, Los Angeles, Calif., 6-2, 6-3
Jimmy Gleason, Laguna Beach, Calif. def. T. Solomon Liu, San Diego, 6-2, 6-4
Jeff Cline Lone Tree, Colo., def. Eric Davidson, Laguna Beach, Calif., 6-1, 6-2
Roberto Ancira, San Diego, def. Brent De Groot, Pleasant Hill, Calif., 7-6(3), 6-2
Kerry Safdie, San Diego, def. Allen Branch, Santa Fe, N.M., 6-0, 6-1
Patrick Rost, San Diego, def. Wade Murphy, Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif., 6-3, 6-4

Second Round
Peter Smith (4), Los Alamitos, Calif., def. Robert Simmons, San Diego, 6-3, 6-0
Scott Moore Yorba Linda, Calif., def. Lorne Abony, Palm Beach, Fla., W/O
James Beneke, San Diego, def. Roberto Ancira, San Diego, Calif., 6-0, 6-3
Andy Stewart (9), Huntington Beach, Calif., def. Jim Tucker, Del Mar, 6-0, 6-0
Manuel Ortiz, El Cajon, def. James Lievers, Escondido, 6-2, 6-2
George Newton, Denham Springs, La., def. Mark McMahon, La Jolla, 7-6, 6-2
Esteban Altuna, Norco, Calif., def. Logan Raskin, N. Hollywood, Calif., 6-2, 4-3, ret.
John Saviano, Los Altos Hills, Calif., def. Brian Thomas (9) Pleasant Hill, Calif., 6-4, 6-4
Jimmy Gleason, Laguna Beach, Calif. def. Dave Kuhn, Elk Grove, Calif., 3-6, 7-6(4), 6-2
Greg Failla (5), Ramona, def. Jay Stress, Bellevue, Wash., 6-0, 6-1
John Morris, Chicago, Ill., def. Jeff Cline Lone Tree, Colo., 6-1, 6-2
Leland Rolling (9) Ramona, def. John Fitzpatrick, Rancho Santa Fe, 6-0, 6-2
Mark Bonfigli, Burlington, Vt., def. Steve Starleaf Burbank, Calif., 4-6, 7-5, ret.
Curtis Dunn (8), San Francisco, Calif., def. Long Tran, San Diego, 6-0, 6-0
Jeffrey Tarango (1) Manhattan Beach, Calif. def. Kosei Ohno, Kirkland, Wash. W/O
Patrick Crow (9) Huntington Beach, Calif. def. Eugene Jones, Del Mar, 6-3, 6-2
Oren Motevassel (2) Sunnyvale, Calif., def. Matt Whitehead, Southwest Ranches, Fla., 6-0, 6-1
Oscar Blacutt, Greensboro, N.C., def. Crendal Blackwell, Clinton, Md., W/O
Daniel Marting (9) Phoenix, Ariz. def. Patrick Rost, San Diego, 5-7, 6-2, 2-0, ret.
Jon Tyrell Sierra Madre, Calif., def. Michael Boice, Aliso Viejo, Calif., 6-3, 6-4
Martin Barba (7) San Marcos, Calif., def. Kerry Safdie San Diego, 6-4, 6-4
Harris Rosenblatt, Gaithersburg, Md., def. Tom Iselin, Sun Valley, Idaho, 6-1, 7-5
Fabian Grassini (9) Santa Ana, Calif., def. Steve Wilde Oak Park, Calif., 6-4, 6-2
James Dao Santa Ana, Calif., def. J Lenoir, Tampa, Fla., 6-3, 6-3
Todd Jordan, San Diego, def. Mark Olman Del Mar, 6-1, 6-1
Jeff Greenwald (3) Corte Madera, Calif., def. Nelson Alapi San Diego, 6-1, 6-0
Warren Fulgenzi (6) Las Vegas, N.M., def. Iraj Aalam La Jolla, 6-2, 6-0
Amir Abramov, Melbourne Beach, Fla., def. Fernando Zuliani, Rochester, Minn., 6-1, 6-0
Todd Nelson (9) Valley Center, def. Anthony Smith, Los Angeles, Calif., 6-4, 6-1
Jason Giavara San Diego, def. Ashley Elliott, Palm Springs, Calif., 6-0, 6-0
Kline Sack (9) New York, N.Y., def. Paul Tracey, La Mesa, 7-5, 7-5

Women’s Singles
First Round
Sheila Weinstock, Solana Beach, def. Britta Pohl, Pullach, Germany, 6-0, 6-0
Nora Harrison, Erie, Colo, def. Maria Nunez, San Diego, 7-5, 6-1
Nicole Samuel, Tiburon, Calif., def. Olivia Burgos Los Angeles, Calif., 6-3, 6-4
Dina McBride, Woodland Hills, Calif., def. Celia Gamboa-Wood, Carlsbad, 6-1, 6-0
Kathryn Settles, Claremont, Calif., def. Carolyn Barber, La Jolla, 6-1, 6-0
Christen Bartelt, Malibu, Calif., def. Deborah Higa Solana Beach, 4-6, 6-4, 6-3


Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup