Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Learn more

USTA - Caribbean Section
P.O. Box 190740
San Juan, PR 00919
(787) 726-8782
FAX: (787) 982-7783


Middle States Men and Northern California Women Win National Titles

By Matt Birch, Special to USTA.com

Tucson, Ariz.--- The USTA Middle States Section men, and the USTA Northern California Section women were crowned champions at the 2011 USTA Adult League 4.5 National Championships, held Oct. 28-30, at the Jim Reffkin Tennis Center.

The Middle States men from Wilmington, Del. defeated a group representing the Southern California Section from Tarzana, by a score of 4-1 in the championship match. Earlier in the day, they defeated a team from the Pacific Northwest Section in the semifinal round.

The Middle States team is captained by Christopher Kyper, and features John Ellis, Trevor Anderson, Jared Howat, Joseph Ferry, Alex Tanzio, Oliver Jones, Ryan Gargullo, Nicholas Gallagher, Russell Chamberlin and Jason Goldman-Petri. The team plays out of the Penn Oaks Racquet Club in West Chester, Pa.

On the women’s side the Northern California team, from Stanford, defeated the group representing the Texas Section, from Tyler, by a 3-2 score in the finals. In the semifinals, the Northern California ladies defeated a team from the Southern Section.

The Northern California team is captained by Mary Gustafson and features Grace Meraz, Marsha Suen, Kelly Mulready, Susan Lynch, Mia Banks, Marilyn Morrell-Kristal, Lynley Payne, Irene Otten, Paula Moser, Michelle Bellomo, Debbie Gersten, Ellie Victor, Suzanne Hayes, Lea Knop, Morgan Bricca, Kristen Lehmkhul, Shelly Thigpen and Briana Wollenweber. The team plays out of Stanford University’s Taube Stadium.

Third place for the men went to the Southern Section, which defeated a team from the Pacific Northwest Section in the consolation match.

The Southern Section women also picked up third place with a victory over the New England Section.

This year’s USTA League 4.5 Adult National Championship has drawn the top 34 teams (17 men’s and 17 women’s) from throughout the nation.

USTA League is celebrating its 31st anniversary this year.  Established in 1980, it has grown from 13,000 participants in a few parts of the country in its first year, to over 779,000 players across the nation today, making it the world’s largest recreational tennis program.

The USTA League was established to provide adult recreational tennis players throughout the country with the opportunity to compete against players of similar ability levels.  Players participate on teams in a league format, which is administered by the USTA through its 17 Sections.  The league groups players by using six National Tennis Rating Program (NTRP) levels, ranging from 2.5 (entry) to 5.0 (advanced).  USTA League is open to any USTA member 19 years of age or older.  It features Adult and Mixed Doubles divisions, as well as a Senior Division (age 50) and a Super Senior Division (age 60).

Head Penn Racquet Sports is in its 24th year as official ball of USTA League.


Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup